Morning Walk in our New Village!

Lola and I went on a walk this morning and I took some photos with my iphone. So they are not the best quality, but not too bad.  In fact my DSLR camera I use constantly stopped working as soon as we moved.  UGH! I’m not sure what is going on but it won’t turn on.  So you’ve actually been seeing iphone photos the last few posts.

Spring feels like it is here today, the sun is out and the back of the house is open! We’ve been planting flowers and watching bulbs explode with green shoots and shortly by flowers! A sure sign! Ahhh we made it through winter, although it was a very mild winter, for us.

These two photos are views from a dirt road we often take Lola for walks.  It is lined with hedge rows.  These hedge rows are a bit bare but you get the idea.  Not many fences in these farmlands!

Image

Along the path that is a bit built up we can see rolling hills of farmlands. Just beautiful this morning!

Image

Image

And here are a few shots walking back into our new village, Islip.  I’m not sure if you can see it but there is a sign on the house that says The Old School House and a date.  Many homes in the villages do not have numbers for addresses but names.  Old School House, Old Stables, Window Box Cottage…etc.

Image

The Old School House

Image

I bet the British are so sick of Harry Potter, but I’m not and I can’t help but wonder if Dumbledore lives here…?! This is not actually the Headmaster’s House but this home’s address. The sign has been updated. I’ll try to get some more shots of names of homes.

This is just The School House, I'm assuming it's a newer building that was once used for the school.  It's for sale people, look at that door!

This is just The School House, I’m assuming it’s a newer building that was once used for the school. It’s for sale people, look at that door!

In the UK the Main Street is called High Street and many villages have one as well as towns.  Most of the shops can be found there.  Often in advertisements you hear, “better than the High Street Prices”.

Here is the street sign for our village's High Street.

Here is the street sign for our village’s High Street.

And yes, like Downton Abby many of the villages have one Manor House.

And yes, like Downton Abby many of the villages have one Manor House.

The manor house near our old house was ginormous and was a buisness of it’s own. They owned most of the farmland surrounging our village and many of the properties in nearby villages.  In fact some villages surrounding the manor house were all properties owned by the Manor House Estate.  The one here is Islip is nothing compared to that house!

Daffodils, my favorite flower. They are amazing and come in many shades and combinations of yellow and sometimes white. Aren't they gorgeous?!

Daffodils, my favorite flower. They are amazing and come in many shades and combinations of yellow and sometimes white. Aren’t they gorgeous?! And this stone wall, probably from the 14th or 15th century. Yup.

These beauties have shot up in our front garden! Makes me happy!

These beauties have shot up in our front garden! Makes me happy!

And we made it home to find Amy and Daddy installing our newest baby gate but we like to call them Lola gates because really…that is who they are for!

Sorry Lola, no more kitchen for you during meals.

Sorry Lola, no more kitchen for you during people meals.

And now, after two months, Derek and I don’t have to get up every 10 seconds while we eat to shoo her “OUT”!! It’s the little things.

photo 2 (5)

The best way for Amy and Lola to play!

photo 4

Amy also raided her first kitchen cabinet today!! SO much fun to be had!!

For an update from my last post I have been able to run 3 days a week and have worked up to running 30 minutes at a time! Success! I also have been consistent in going to the gym to take 3 classes a week.  Tuesday will offically be two weeks but already my whole body feels better.  I haven’t lost weight but my clothes feel different and my body feels tighter.  Yay exercise. I hope to keep this up! My gym makes you sign up in advance to reserve your space in class and for Amy’s space in the nursery.  That helps me feel accountable to show up! And Lola loves and needs her runs so that helps me get out to run in the morning. Happy Sunday!

 

 

 

 

3 responses to “Morning Walk in our New Village!

Leave a Reply

