Amy’s Room

I have wanted to post about Amy’s nursery because I was so happy with the way it turned out and I wanted to share it with my friends & family back home.  In a normal situation you would have all been over here to visit and you could have seen her room. But we live in England.  Before Amy came along that door was always closed because it was our storage room but when we moved in here we always hoped it would be a nursery.  When we were getting ready for Amy’s arrival her nursery was a very important project to me.  It was a way I could love her while she was getting ready to meet us.  The room was cleared out, Derek painted, a 500 piece Ikea dresser was put together.

Image

Lola helping clear out the room of old college books and luggage!

Image

Deciding on paint color, which would you pick?

Image

We chose cappuccino and Derek did all the painting!

Image

Prego and pounding

Special items were made to hang on the walls by me and my dad, and her bedding was sewn by my mom and a quilt made for her by Derek’s mom.  We planned the room before we knew she was a girl and added pink touches once we found out.  It’s a beautiful room that reminds me of Florida and the beach.  I love sitting in there feeding Amy in the comfy recliner given to us by dear friends who have their own memories of comforting their children in the middle of the night in the same chair.

Image

Image

A growth chart made by Grandma

Image

Image

Image

Amy sign by grandpap from wood taken from doors at their house, kelp basket liner by Grandma.

Image

Amy (7 weeks) with my sister, this photo is very precious to me. The photographer took it while Katie was calming Amy at the session. It was in a studio but it is actually a candid shot.

It was the room I most thought about while in Florida when my mind wandered to our return to the UK.  I was so excited to show it to Amy again, after all she wouldn’t remember.  I just knew she’d love pulling out the books from the bookshelf bench we made and playing with the toys in the toy bins for which my mom made liners.  It is a very soothing room for me; starfish, crabs, waves and photographs of our families at the beach and in the water.

Image

The fish mobile from Pottery Barn Kids was my first purchase for the nursery. My friend Hannah made the bunting for Amy’s UK baby shower.

Image

Derek & my senior HS swim team photos, Derek swimming butterfly at a HS meet and my YMCA patches from swimming lessons.

Image

Here is the crib with bedding made by Grandma and quilt complete with wave quilting stitching made by Nana, lucky girl!

Image

Katie made Amy the quilt over the back of the chair. We used it all the time for tummy time!

Image

Piggy bank from Uncle Scott, a photo of Derek & me on a dive trip to Jupiter, a wooden train brought back from Belgium by Grandma & Grandpap, and the first note sent to me by Derek’s grandmother on personalized stationary, Amy’s namesake.

Image

I found this table at my favorite antique store here in the UK. The blocks wagon is from my friends Molly & John

Image

Pinterest project to make the bench seat. It’s a bookshelf from Ikea.

Image

Made in Great Britian, Great-great grandmother, great-grandmothers, fishing in a gutter, family at the beach, Amy’s first bath, Lola, paddle boats, postcards from Clearwater, and grandparents’ honeymoon photos.

Image

Image

My aunt sent this to me because I made it for my cousin when he was born, he is now in his mid 20’s.

Image

A hand print kit given to me by Ruthie, my hand therapist friend. Amy was so small we did her feet too!

Unfortunately we received notice from our UK landlords four days after our family was reunited that we have to vacate our house.  They need to have the house back due to unforseen circumstances.   Our first week back together was supposed to be the three of us, and Lola, cuddled up in our home loving and catching up with each other.  Instead we’ve been searching for a new place to live; phone calls, home tours, more phone calls, Amy in and out of the car skipping much needed naps.  It has been difficult with a high level of stress, hurt and anger.  We only have 6 or 7 months left at this post and now we are unexpectantly having to move a four bedroom house on our own dime.

Most of my saddness has been for the loss of Amy’s room that our families spent months planning and creating.  She was only in there the first seven months of her life.  I don’t regret the time and love spent on the space.  I will always have the memory of her and her Daddy playing in there on their first day back together on the floor with her toys.

Image

Amy will have many rooms in her life but this was her first.  She is officially a military child, very adaptable (I’m just not sure her mommy will ever get used to so much change).  Sigh.  Derek and I have worked well together this week supporting each other when we each need it.  We’ve been calling ourselves “Team Bickler”.  I’m so glad I have him as my partner in life, we make a good team.  I will enjoy Amy’s room while it still stands and be strong when it’s taken down.  Just another adventure on the books, I have to remember some of them are going to be unwelcome surprises.

Image

New sleep deprived mommy and her baby girl

4 responses to “Amy’s Room

Leave a Reply

