This is it…expat time!

We arrived home from VT on Wednesday and the family visits continued.  First we drove down to visit my Nanny in Venice.  She continues to amaze me! She had made individual shrimp cocktails for us as appetizers, she handed me a 600+ page novel she recommended I read and said “it’s a little slow at first but stick with it, it’s a lovely story.”.  She is 92!

Friday we had lunch at my grandmother’s home in St.Pete and got to see her and my Aunt Bonnie who were not able to be at Katie’s wedding.  Her condition seems to get worse every time I see her.  She is shaky and her voice is quiet.  That was the hardest goodbye to date.

Friday afternoon my husband’s brother, sister-in-law and their two kids arrived for the weekend.  We cooked-out, swam in the pool and visited Winter the dolphin at the Clearwater Marine Science Center.  Luckily Aunt Jane, Julie and Chloe came over too.  That night Molly came to visit and we were able to squeeze in a 10pm movie, which was great!

Scott, Annette, Mya and Justin left this morning.  My husband has felt lucky to live so close to them these past 3 years but it will be hard the next 3 to be far away from them growing up!

Sound, cameraman, director, cast (us) and University of Tampa communication students

Today from 10-2:30pm my husband and I (with the help from some friends Sara, Jeff and Marie) shot our backstory for the HGTV show House Hunters International.  It was actually fun, easy and the director told us he’s been doing this a long time and we made it really easy, we did well in front of the camera.  We did an interview down by the marina in front of our old apartment and then shot some stuff in Ybor followed by faking our departure at the airport.  I came home today and took a 2 hour nap!

It’s tomorrow!  We move to England tomorrow.  I can’t believe it.  Amy’s mom, Beth asked me over the phone if we were ready and I replied, “Yes, we sold our cars, our stuff is on it’s way,  and we’ve  moved out of our apartment. We’re ready.”  She replied, “I mean are you psychologically ready?”  And I said, “Oh no, I am in complete denial.” 🙂  It’s true, even tonight.  I know I have a one-way ticket, I know in my head that I am going to be living in the UK the next 3 years but my heart, my heart is still here with all my family and all my friends.  It’s been very strange to not be going to work.  We’ve been so busy I haven’t been able, or won’t let my brain go to that place where I tell myself, “Sara, this is it, you are moving and you don’t know when you might see the people closest to you again. You will not wake up on Christmas morning at mom and dad’s house for the first time in 34 years.” Whoo this is hard to write.  I will miss everyone so much.  It’ll be hard but I am excited about this adventure that, without meeting my husband, I would never have done on my own.  I am so lucky!

Cheers! See you on the other side of the pond! You better come visit, all of you!

Love you,

Sara xoxo

6 responses to “This is it…expat time!

Leave a Reply

