Olé

BACHELORETTE!!

Friday was my last day at my job of 7 years.  Tear. I will so miss my co-workers who have all become my friends.  I will also miss my patients and their families.  I wouldn’t allow myself to be emotional about the goodbye for three reasons:

1) I have been so busy and stressed I almost don’t have time to be sad.

2. I won’t let myself be emotional

3) I am definitely still in denial and my brain truly believes I’ll be back to work on Monday morning.

After a few hours at work I flew to Burlington to surprise Katie at her bachelorette party.  I was picked up at the airport by Katie’s friend Michelle.  We went to a new restaurant on Church Street called El Gato Cantina with 4 friends from Burlington (Michelle, Sarah, Rose, and Rebecca), Amy who now lives in Virginia, and Casey who was in Katie’s graduate lab at UofM and now lives in southern Vermont.  Katie and Brian (wearing a fedora) arrived via rickshaw driven by Michelle’s husband Brennan outfitted with an iPod playing music Katie described as “a combination of cruise ship/Mexican brass band music”.  To say the least Katie was shocked to see me walk in the restaurant because of everything going on in my life.  We have both been pretty stressed lately and have been able to support each other through phone calls, but it’s just not the same as a hug.  When the straw broke the camel’s back Katie’s molar fell out into her salad, she found out she needs a root canal and does not carry dental insurance! I just wanted to tell her “Hang in there, I arrive Friday!

We had a great dinner and the staff sang ‘For She’s a Jolly Good Fellow’, placed a huge sombrero on her head and gave her a shot of tequila.  Needless to say Katie had been drinking a margarita and after the shot got a little silly.  The girls wrote rhyming clues and had special people to Katie video themselves reading them.  Throughout the weekend Katie will get these video clues for what is to happen next.  So far Mom gave her the restaurant clue, Jenny her BFF from Wash U gave one for us to go dancing after dinner but we were all lame and went home instead.  Here is the latest clue for breakfast at Sarah’s house this morning read by Kaite’s old roomie from Michigan another Sarah. It’s hilarious! I can’t wait to dance with her at Katie’s wedding.

2 responses to “Olé

Leave a Reply

