Update

We’ll get back to our trip to the UK but I had to update you on some small world events that have happened in my life recently.  I have to say I do not like the ride but I love the life application.

First, my friend/co-worker Sallie wrote me an email that a neighbor of hers was moving in a couple of weeks to Oxford, UK.  Sallie sent us an email to get us in touch with each other.  We started emailing.  Not only is her name Sarah, she is an OT and her 2 and a half year-old daughter’s name is Maren.  Maren is the name of a girl I went to school with that I have always loved.  Derek and I have tossed it around and I think it ranks #2.  (Yes we talk about naming our children).   Sarah’s husband is doing part of a PhD at Oxford and she is blogging about it.  They will be there for one year.  Hopefully once we each get settled we’ll be able to meet until then we are emailing and reading each others blogs about this move.  Hi Sarah! We believe we will be about 1 hour apart.  I am really excited that I will have a contact and friend in the UK experiencing the same change.

Second one of my patients’ mothers is a member of a Facebook support page for children with Sensory Processing Disorder.  She posted on the page worries about her son transitioning to a new OT because his OT (me) of 2 and-a-half years is moving to England.  Someone commented on her post that she was an OT in the UK looking to connect with US trained OTs.  I immediately emailed her and she told me she grew up in the UK, moved to the US and went to St. Pete High for the IB program!!! WHAT?!  She also said she was currently living in London and had only been to Cambridge once.  She then shared with me that Lucy Jane Miller was doing research with Cambridge University.  WHAT?!!!  I did a two month fellowship in graduate school in Denver Colorado directly with Lucy Miller! I even traveled with her to help run a weekend course in NY.  This is unreal.  I am hoping to get in touch with Dr. Miller next week to see if there are any positions available.  This would be great because apparently the least amount of time for me to get my license to practice, once I submit the application, is 4 months.  I can’t believe what a small world in which we live.

2 responses to “Update

Leave a Reply

